Harvest for Android 1.5.1: Better Performance, Team Status, and More!

Recently we released a long awaited update to Harvest for Android. In previous versions, there were reports by some users experiencing issues with syncing, sluggishness, and even crashing. We did a serious overhaul of the codebase to fix these issues and to make further enhancements much easier to implement. The result is a more reliable app with vastly improved performance and usability.

  • Optimized Timesheet — Now you can jump to today’s date from any day of the week in the timesheet. Behind the scenes, logged time updates to Harvest more efficiently than before.
  • Team Status — Administrators can stay in sync with their team by viewing their team’s timers in real-time from the app.
  • Refer a Friend — The next time you mention Harvest at a cocktail party, you can share a unique link with partygoers and earn credit ($) towards your next month’s bill.

android-time-tracker

This build should feel more solid than ever before, and we invite you to give it a try! And as always, we’re listening — don’t hesitate to leave us feedback in a review on the Google Play store.

14 Comments so far
  • This app is incompatible with 25% of Android phones.

    http://socialcompare.com/en/comparison/android-versions-comparison

    • Thanks, Tim. That’s true. The good news is that it’s compatible with 95% of our customers. We made the decision to just support Android 3+ when we realized that that’s where our customer base was. Please let me know if you have any other questions.

  • One feature that I still don’t see on Android that is on iOS is the ability to edit the time of day of a given entry. I can only edit the Hours spent, but not the start and stop time. Is there a solution to this? Also the iOS app is the same color scheme as the web version, but not the Android one. I’m curious as to the reasoning behind this.

    • Thanks, Chris. Sorry for the confusion. We don’t have a way to edit start and stop times in Android at the moment, but we are gradually bringing the Android app up to speed to match the functionality—and appearance—of the iPhone app. Thanks for your patience!

  • Thanks for the reply. the timestamp editing is something that I lament not having on a daily basis on my phone, as we tweak these settings quite a bit in our daily workflow. I look forward to that update!

  • Would love to be able to create and send an invoice from my mobile.

    Thanks

    • Thanks, Charles. We don’t have any plans for invoicing in our mobile apps at the moment, but I’ll make a note of it. Thanks for the feedback.

  • Gernot Schmied December 14, 2013

    All nice and well.

    However, I’d suggest to get back to work on the backend functionality instead of allocating all your resources to apps and cosmetic GUI improvements. There has been no notable update to the data model, translations, workflow and forms for 1,5 years.

    It amazes me, how long you ignore to implement trivial requests such as
    -adding a Tax-ID field + translation
    -add translation to due-date selector

    obviously ALL customers would benefit of.

    Regards,
    Gernot

    • Thanks, Gernot. Sorry for the frustration. I know it’s probably hard from the outside looking in, but we’re working on many improvements to the Android app. Thanks for your patience!

  • Hello Scott,

    it is not a matter of patience but more a matter of listening to customer requirements or not. I am not implying that you are not working hard but certainly not customer feedback-driven. I also suggest a more transparent way of feedback, let customers vote for most required features such as Atlassina does. It really spoils the fun of a good product.Could you please elaborate on the two aspects raised and when we can expect a resolution? That should ot be rokcet science.

    Regards,
    Gernot

    • Thanks for the feedback, Gernot. We’re working with customer requests all the time—often directly with customers on beta builds—but I can see how that is impossible to see unless we publicize it.

      We don’t publicize our roadmap or request lists, because we do have to change direction from time to time, and we don’t want to disappoint our customers. It’s a Catch 22 to be sure, but this method has worked very well for us so far.

      We keep track of our feature requests within our support system, so the best thing that I can suggest is to send an email to support@getharvest.com with your requests for the Android app and then we can make a note of the request, the ticket number and your email address. Thanks!

  • Hello Scott,

    I was not talking aubout the Android App as should be clear form the content of my posting.

    Regards,
    Gernot

  • Tom Vandeputte December 20, 2013

    Recentely tried to use the Android app, what we miss is the use of time stamp entry instead of choosing how much time you worked for a project/client.

    Also since we have a lot of different customers with on their turn lot of running projects, we have to scroll a lot. It would be handy to type in the letters (like the back-end website) to get to the client/project.

    regards,
    Tom

Comments have been closed.
The HARVEST Blog News & small business tips from your beloved time tracking & invoicing app.