Your browser is no longer supported! Please upgrade your web browser now.

New Feature: Duplicate Timesheet

We just recently released a small, but useful new feature in Harvest: you can now copy over all rows from previous timesheet. Many of our customers work on similar tasks each day, and it’s a hassle to have to choose the same tasks and type in the same notes day in and day out. This new feature should make that process simpler.

On a new and fresh timesheet (the Day view), you will see a line that says, “Copy over all entries from a previous timesheet”. Click on the link, choose whether or not you want to copy over timesheet notes as well, and voila – a timesheet with all the rows from your most recent timesheet.

duplicate_timesheet

With a copied timesheet, you can quickly start timer and jump from task to task. On your next day, Harvest will remember what you chose and start the day with those same rows.

Any time you’d like to activate this – on a new day’s fresh timesheet, you’ll see a message on top that will let you clear all rows. Click on the link to clear all copied over rows, and Harvest will not duplicate timesheet again.

Hope you find this new feature useful, and please let us know if you have any questions or comments!

Thoughts or questions about this post? Need some help?
Get in touch →

This was posted in Product News, Time Tracking.
  • Jeff Borisch on December 8, 2009

    Is this change live to everyone now?

    I don’t see it yet.

    I’ve loged out and back in and made some new timesheets.

    I’ve been hoping for this feature for forever.

  • Jeff, sorry for the confusion. You’ll only see the duplicate timesheet option on a new day, on your fresh and empty timesheet.

    The reason for this is that we wouldn’t want to copy over and wipe out your already entered rows.

  • Hi,

    this is an interesting feature, however there does not seem to be any way to de-activate it. Can you tell me how I stop the “copy from the previous day’s timesheet.”

  • Hi Rob, good question! I just updated the blog post to explain that. Basically: when you start a day’s timesheet, you’ll see all the rows copied over. On top of the timesheet, there’s a message to clear all rows – click on that link and you’ll get a fresh, empty timesheet, and Harvest will remember to not duplicate timesheet from there on.

  • Jeff Borisch on December 10, 2009

    Thanks Shawn,

    I have it now and your explanation makes sense.

    Funny thing is I didn’t have any entries yet on the day that I was expecting to copy entries to. I must have done something which created a record in the database for that day.

  • THANK YOU!! This has been at the top of my wish list since we started using Harvest. It is a HUGE time saver.

  • I’d just been billing all 40 hours each week on Monday of that week.

    Will have to give this a shot.

    Thanks!

  • Oh, that is so awesome. Will definitely shave at least a few minutes off of my daily routine.

  • I thought I had this working recently – but now I can’t find the copy entries link? Any ideas? Day view from the previous day with time recorded won’t show the link to copy to the current day.

  • Hi Karl,

    We recently disabled the timesheet duplication feature because we found that it was causing a great deal of confusion and trouble for some people.

    Would you mind dropping us a line at support@harvestapp.com and let us know how you were making use of duplication?

  • For anybody that might be interested, I whipped up a simple PHP script to duplicate the last time sheet via API. I run this every day from Alfred instead of logging in and clicking the “copy over all entries” link. Because, you know, seconds matter.

    More here: http://workingconcept.com/blog/script-copy-harvest-timesheet

  • That is really cool Matt, thanks for sharing!

Comments have been closed for this post.
Still have questions? Contact our support team →