Your browser is no longer supported! Please upgrade your web browser now.
Posts by Alanna Feinsod:

Easier Editing from Your Reports

Sometimes something small can make a huge difference. Think about adding salt to your French fries or taking a few moments to clear your mind before tackling a project. We recently made a tiny change to Harvest, but we think it’ll have a big impact on the way you edit time or expense entries.

Currently, our Detailed Time and Expense reports let you easily review your work. But what if you notice an error and need to edit? The report was a dead end, with no easy way to make changes.

Now, we’ve removed that dead end. As of today, when you click on any time listed in the Hours column of a Detailed Time report, or an amount in the Amount column of an Expense report, you’ll be taken right to that entry. Here’s what it looks like for time:

DTR

One thing to note: Previously, clicking an amount in your Expense Report would open the expense’s receipt (if one was attached). Now, you can get to that receipt by clicking the paperclip icon to the right of the amount.

We hope that this update makes editing entries easier, so you have more time for what really matters—getting that clear headspace so you can get to work!

Archive the Old, In with the New

Everyone likes to start the new year with a goal in mind. If yours is to be more organized, then archiving projects in Harvest may be the most satisfying thing you do all week! Even if organization isn’t your goal (maybe you’re looking to take up knitting, instead), it’ll still feel great when you’re looking at freshly cleaned list in the Projects section of your account. It’s like seeing the floor in a closet for the first time in months (or years…we don’t judge)!

Sounds good! How do I archive my projects?

To archive a project, just head over to the Projects section of your account and click the Actions menu for any project. Select Archive, and you’re all set!

archive_link

What projects should I archive?

You can archive things that are no longer actively being worked on. When you archive a project, all the data stays put in your account, so you’ll still have easy access for reporting and invoicing. However, it’ll no longer appear in your list of active projects, and people won’t see it as an option to track new time or expenses to.

Another pointer: it can be helpful to duplicate long-term, internal projects every year. Then archive the original. This gives you one project per year, and can make it easier to use reports to show you the most relevant information.

Okay, but why should I bother archiving projects? They’re not bothering anyone.

Trimming down your list of active projects will make the Projects page in your account more useful, since you’ll be able to see just the projects that matter to you now. Your team also won’t have to scroll through tons of unused projects to find what they’re looking for when they track time.

You can learn more about archiving projects in our Help Center, or shoot us an email at support@harvestapp.com, where our Experts are ready to help! We hope you have a happy and clutter-free New Year!

New Year, New Rates: How to Update Your People’s Rates for 2017

A new year is at our doorstep, and with any luck, your company is getting ready to adjust your employees’ rates for the new year.

Rate information is stored in a few different places in Harvest—in a user’s profile and in a project’s settings—but you might not be familiar with how to update those rates.

Rather than spending New Year’s Eve thinking about the changes you need to make for January, here’s a quick rundown so you can spend the evening focusing on what really matters—family, friends, and hopefully some party hats and noisemakers.

Why You Need to Know About Changing Rates

Depending on where you change rates, you’ll see it impact your data in different ways. Some changes affect previously tracked time, while others affect only future time and projects.

It’s important to understand how these settings work in order to keep your data as accurate as possible.

How Rate Changes Affect Your Account

  • Changes to a person’s default billable rate (on a person’s profile in the new Team section) affect only projects created after the change. It will not affect existing projects. From a person’s Basic Info, you’ll see this:

Frost's Basic Info

  • Changes to a person’s billable rate on a current project (under Projects) will affect all historical data for that project. The updated rate will apply to all of the project’s time, both in the past and the future. You’ll see that rate applied in reports and on any invoices you generate after updating the rate. You’ll update this rate from a project’s Billable Rate field, shown here:

Project settings

  • You may have projects that started in 2016 and continue into 2017. However, 2017 may need different rates. In this case, we recommend that you duplicate your original project. Then, enter your new rates into your duplicate project, and archive your original. This preserves your historical billable rates.
  • A person can have only one cost rate in Harvest. Cost rates can be updated in a person’s profile under Team. Changes to a person’s cost rate will affect all cost rate data throughout your account, including data in archived projects.

For more details on how to adjust rates, check out the Changing Cost Rates and Billable Rates article in our Help Center.

You can also reach out to your Harvest Experts if you have any questions about changing rates, and they’ll be happy to help!

We hope 2016 was a paramount year for your business, and we thank you for letting Harvest be a part of that. Here’s to an even better 2017!